Posts

week 7, red!

Image
This is a day late cuz I was sick, L.  Anyways, enjoy this week's blog post.  So, Charlie and I tried to check out some movies from the library yesterday but they got flagged due to age restrictions. I could've sworn R rated movies were 17 and up not 18... but the lady was kind of mean about our silly little mistake in checking out rated R movies while only being 18 so that was very unfortunate. (I thought librarians were supposed to be super friendly and stuff). So we ended up getting The Bee Movie (an absolute classic) and Red.  We watched Red with my mom last night.  Red is a great movie. It's one my dad had my brother and I watch with him when we were littler. It has all the qualities that a proper action movie needs to have: super secret man with long complicated CIA/FBI backstory that kills all the bad guys with no struggle. Comedy!!! I can't stress this enough... and plenty of guns and death.  But really, this movie excels in comedy .  Usually, I hat...

week 6, i didnt have time to watch a movie.

Image
  So, this week I didn't have time to watch a movie. So sorry, no movie review today!  However, this week I did participate in The Nutcracker which is an amazing ballet that's put on by local ballet company CUBallet at Krannert (watch it next year, if you choose). So I'll retell some interesting/funny stuff from that.  So, everyone got sick. RIP!  Also, my brother should never be allowed to have the AUX. (Fatal mistake).  We almost got kicked out of Merry Ann's! This may be an exaggeration. Basically, one person accidentally opened the alarm door. And then they thought that that same person dined and dashed (he would never do such a thing) and then didn't believe us when we said he paid... Oh well. All is fine.  My little cousin didn't recognize me when I went up to him and said hi. I have some interesting photos my mom took of him standing next to me confused why I was talking to him.  Dry ice is awful to inhale. It sorta just dries out your entire sk...

week 5, heathers my beloved

On this week's blog post, Heathers! This was my 4th time watching the movie... but who cares. Is Heathers a classic? I've decided it is... so we're back on theme!  Heathers is from (if I remember correctly) 1979 (why would I spend time googling this?). And it's reflected in its less than modern values. The F slur is said multiple times, at least 3- if not more than half a dozen. (I started counting then lost track). And Veronica's dialogue is sometimes very clearly written by a man. (As she is narrating her venting in her diary from after she was nearly/was sexually assaulted she justifies her anger with "believe me, its not just a spoke in my menstrual cycle!")  There's a lot of themes of sexual assault in this movie, be warned.  This movie just seems to be in a league of its own. The music/dialogue/framing of the movie is strange, very peculiar, and doesn't seem natural. It's very clearly scripted.  Regardless, I love this movie.  It's a ...

week 4, more Cars.

I technically watched Cars 2.  So I'll just be continuing my post from last week, ranting about the universe of Cars--because that's a movie. And also because my god- the sequel just makes it weirder.  Who is in charge of Cars? Who decided we needed a sequel? And why make it spy movie themed? And not even just themed- it's labeled on Wikipedia as a "computer-animated spy comedy film".  Who is gonna sit here and say "ah yes, my favorite spy movie: Cars 2!" unironically? Alas.  I have forgotten apparently that the Cars movies are technically a kids movie, which explains their basic (and really. nonsensical) plots and character arcs. Lightning McQueen and Tow Mator learn the value of friendship! Or something like that...  Tow Mator basically becomes a spy in this movie. How do cars even become spies? I feel like that would not logistically work out. Because a massive tow truck isn't very subtle and hidable. What even is a spy? Debating great questions h...

week 3, i have given up on the original agenda

 So. I thought this week was off to a good start. I sat down to watch Clueless, and I hit play. Great, right? I finally found one of the original movies on my list on a streaming platform that I have access to.  And then I immediately got bored, and a little wide-eyed when it began to look like the main love interest would be between the main girl and her step-brother.  We do not enjoy incest here on the 8 week nonfic challenege gone wrong! gone 3am! blog.  So, I did not finish watching the movie. Maybe I'll watch it later.  So I might as well just talk about the movie I did watch: Cars.  Cars is a weird movie. Why are there talking cars? How do they use gasoline as food? Aren't you supposed to turn off the car before you pour gasoline so it doesn't maybe explode in a fiery ball of fire? Are you supposed to turn the Car off before you pour gas into it? Would that kill them? What is going on? Why do they just replace their tires? Is that like getting a pros...

week 2???????? the nightmare before christmas

remember how I said I would be following a predetermined list?  about that...  So, I decided that in honor of Halloween I would watch a spooky movie, particularly Scream. Because I wanted to watch it and it was on my list of want-to-watch movies. And, well, it's not available on any streaming platforms (at least the ones I have access to), without paying extra.  So I didn't watch Scream.  I did, however, watch Nightmare before Christmas. And technically, it's a classic.  You may think: Joey you've seen NBC like 3 times already, and the list is of movies you haven't watched! Okay? And I completely forgot the plot of this movie so basically  it's a brand new movie.  NBC (not to be confused with NBC news) is a beautiful stopmotion movie where Jack Skelly-boi steals Christmas from Santa, and probably traumatizes a couple kids in the process.  Now for the thing you've all be waiting for: is it overrated?  Nah. It deserves its rep. Watch it. It's l...

bonjour

 today is the start of an 8 week challenge for Dr. Moffit's lovely nonfiction writing class.  I will be watching a movie every week and reporting back to this here blog. Well, more specifically, a classic movie. The ones that everyone is absolutely shocked by when you tell them you haven't seen it. In general, I haven't really seen a lot of the non-action movies that are considered to be classics. So let's watch some of them here.  Amongst this list is BeetleJuice, Mean Girls, The Breakfast Club, Coraline, Scream, Clueless, Grease, and The Godfather. Granted, this list may change due to availability.  You may be wondering. Joey, how did you come up with this list? Well, my best friend has seen a lot of movies and thinks it's absurd that I haven't seen a lot of these. Otherwise, I keep hearing them referenced and wish to understand the reference. Also, these seemed at least somewhat interesting from a google search of "classic movies".  Stay tuned to he...