Posts

Showing posts from November, 2022

week 4, more Cars.

I technically watched Cars 2.  So I'll just be continuing my post from last week, ranting about the universe of Cars--because that's a movie. And also because my god- the sequel just makes it weirder.  Who is in charge of Cars? Who decided we needed a sequel? And why make it spy movie themed? And not even just themed- it's labeled on Wikipedia as a "computer-animated spy comedy film".  Who is gonna sit here and say "ah yes, my favorite spy movie: Cars 2!" unironically? Alas.  I have forgotten apparently that the Cars movies are technically a kids movie, which explains their basic (and really. nonsensical) plots and character arcs. Lightning McQueen and Tow Mator learn the value of friendship! Or something like that...  Tow Mator basically becomes a spy in this movie. How do cars even become spies? I feel like that would not logistically work out. Because a massive tow truck isn't very subtle and hidable. What even is a spy? Debating great questions h...

week 3, i have given up on the original agenda

 So. I thought this week was off to a good start. I sat down to watch Clueless, and I hit play. Great, right? I finally found one of the original movies on my list on a streaming platform that I have access to.  And then I immediately got bored, and a little wide-eyed when it began to look like the main love interest would be between the main girl and her step-brother.  We do not enjoy incest here on the 8 week nonfic challenege gone wrong! gone 3am! blog.  So, I did not finish watching the movie. Maybe I'll watch it later.  So I might as well just talk about the movie I did watch: Cars.  Cars is a weird movie. Why are there talking cars? How do they use gasoline as food? Aren't you supposed to turn off the car before you pour gasoline so it doesn't maybe explode in a fiery ball of fire? Are you supposed to turn the Car off before you pour gas into it? Would that kill them? What is going on? Why do they just replace their tires? Is that like getting a pros...

week 2???????? the nightmare before christmas

remember how I said I would be following a predetermined list?  about that...  So, I decided that in honor of Halloween I would watch a spooky movie, particularly Scream. Because I wanted to watch it and it was on my list of want-to-watch movies. And, well, it's not available on any streaming platforms (at least the ones I have access to), without paying extra.  So I didn't watch Scream.  I did, however, watch Nightmare before Christmas. And technically, it's a classic.  You may think: Joey you've seen NBC like 3 times already, and the list is of movies you haven't watched! Okay? And I completely forgot the plot of this movie so basically  it's a brand new movie.  NBC (not to be confused with NBC news) is a beautiful stopmotion movie where Jack Skelly-boi steals Christmas from Santa, and probably traumatizes a couple kids in the process.  Now for the thing you've all be waiting for: is it overrated?  Nah. It deserves its rep. Watch it. It's l...